Making game less laggy

I am working on a simple game (I’m a beginner) in which the player jumps up platforms. Currently, there is only one screen and a level creator. The way it works right now, I mean only the basics of creating levels, is in a grid you select certain boxes, in which an object called platformerBoxes is placed. The position is then saved in an array in a .txt file once the changes have been saved. There are no hitboxes or players or anything yet. However, the game is very laggy right now. The grid is 34 * 20, and with only 50 boxes the game lags at 1920 x 1080. Are there any systematic changes I should make? Is there a better approach on a theoretical level? Thanks

1 Like

It would help to see code

In suspicion is that you save the txt throughout and not only once

1 Like

Maybe my wording was a bit misleading. Only if you enter the level creator and save configs, does it get saved. The data from the text file gets loaded in setup(), and you can go directly to the game without editing the level, so unless I’m mistaken the data technically should only load once. My code is spread out over multiple tabs, however I could send the whole thing as a .rar. Could the issue just be too many objects on screen?

In theory yes. How much are there?

Also important: load images only once in setup (). Use resize() for images only in setup. Use the command image() only with 3 parameters, not 5 parameters (otherwise he is doing a resize every time prior to posting the image).

You mentioned a grid. When your grid encompasses the whole screen and each cell is small, this would take time. It would be faster to have a background image and have a list of platforms with its length. Much faster I guess.

Chrisir