Making boxes bounce around a screen

Hi, I am relatively new to processing.py and I’ve been stuck on my code for a few days now. Basically I’m trying to make a bunch of boxes bounce around the screen and bounce off of each other if they collide. I’ve written a bit of the code which I’ll share below, but I have no clue were to begin with the collision, boundaries and adding more boxes to my list.

def setup():
global boxes, numBoxes
global canvasWidth, canvasHeight
global i
i = 6
size(800,600)
background(0)
boxes = [[6, 6], [787,11]]
numBoxes = len(boxes)
canvasWidth = 799
canvasHeight = 599

def draw():
global boxes, numBoxes
background(0)
rect(378,250,100,100)
global canvasWidth, canvasHeight
for i in range(0,1):
boxes[i][0] += 3
boxes[i][1] += 2
rect(boxes[i][0], boxes[i][1], 100, 100)

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

Hello @matt423 !

This may be of interest:

And this:
https://funprogramming.org/60-Are-two-circles-touching-or-intersecting.html

Both of these examples are processing java not python. So use as a basic roadmap for concepts to solve your collision question.

As for adding more boxes. Please explain more specifically what you want to happen. Do you want boxes to appear via user interaction? Please clarify.

Finally, it is much easier to read when code is formatted to look like this:

void setup(){
size(400, 400);
}
void draw(){
}

And so, please format using the </> icon in the toolbar. :slightly_smiling_face:
:nerd_face:

3 Likes

Hi

Try to draw boxes first in the way you want when do that becomes easier to bouncing

1 Like

@debxyz has provided a link to a Java-Processing example, but this is a language independent concept.

Here’s a basic implementation of AABB (rectangle-rectangle collision) collision in Python:

def setup():
    size(500, 500)

def draw():
    background('#0000FF')
    box_1x, box_1y, box_1size = 200, 200, 100 
    box_2x, box_2y, box_2size = mouseX, mouseY, 60