Makes eyes follow mouse cursor

I’m fairly new to coding, but for a project I’m working on, I’m trying to make a pair of eyes that will follow my mouse cursor.
I want the eyes to look at roughly where I point my cursor, while also staying inside the eye sockets. After some tinkering I got it to this stage, which is kind of like what I want it to be like. So far I’ve it so that the distance between the eyeballs don’t change, but the problem now is that I also want them to move in towards each other when the mouse goes between the eyes, and I have not a clue where to start. Maybe with vectors? Any suggestions are appreciated.
Apologies for bad coding.

Code

var halfWidth
var halfHeight

function setup() {
  createCanvas(400, 400);
  ellipseMode(CENTER);
  angleMode(DEGREES);
  rectMode(CENTER);
  noStroke();
  colorMode(HSB);
  halfWidth = width / 2;
  halfHeight = height / 2;
}

function draw() {
  background(0, 0, 50);
  translate(halfWidth, halfHeight);
  scale(1, -1);
  eyes();
}

function eyes() {
  fill(0, 0, 100);
  mEllipse(40, 0, 0, 0, 0, 50);
  //Corrected mouse position
  var adjustedX = mouseX - width / 2;
  var adjustedY = -(mouseY - height / 2);

var xOffset = 40;
  var yOffset = 0;
  var highlightOffset = 5;
  var mapRadius = 12;

//Distance from center of eye sockets to mouse
  var d = dist(0, 0, adjustedX, adjustedY);

//Mapping, restrict mouse to a square centered on the face (the square is turned into a circle down below)
  //50px buffer border arond the canvas
  var x1 = map(adjustedX, -halfWidth + 50, halfWidth - 50, -mapRadius, mapRadius, true);
  var y1 = map(adjustedY, -halfHeight + 50, halfHeight - 50, -mapRadius, mapRadius, true);

//If distance from center to adjustedMouse is less than mapRadius, use mapped mouse coordinates,
  //else, map to closest point on the restricted circle.
  if (dist(0, 0, x1, y1) <= mapRadius) {
    fill(1, 0, 30);
    mEllipse(xOffset, 0, 0, x1, y1, 20);
    //Highlight
    fill(0, 0, 100);