loadShape() Displaying my .obj file flat rather than as a 3D model? Any help?

Hi. I’m new to Processing, having to use it for some University work. My current coursework required me to render in a 3D Model with Processing, but when I use loadShape() and add shape(modelname, integer, integer, integer, integer) to my code, the result is a flattened version of my model and none of the integers really seem to help this? Is there a way to fix this issue?

Oh, I’m also using this in conjunction with PeasyCam interactive camera. Could that be causing issues?

For anyone wondering, I made the model in Blender and exported it as a .obj file

Hi! Welcome to the forum!

First, show us the code :slight_smile: And what happens if you use shape function with only one argument (model) or with three (model, x, y) ?

Hi,
Using the shape function with only 1 or 3 arguments leads to the model simply not displaying at all.

This is the code that performs the current actions and leaves the model flat. I seem to only be able to control the position with the first 2 integer arguments and then the width and length with the last 2?

Also, as can be seen here, the model is still very slightly 3D, with some sections popping out from others (almost as if the height is set to something like 4 when it should be like 500?)

@micuat
hi add the link how to format the code i think you made mini video about it

1 Like

thanks. Instead of image could you post the code as text for the reference? You can use </> button to format

The problem is that shape only scales in x and y axes. You set those parameters to “stretch” to these directions but z remains the same. Instead, you should use shape with one argument (obj) and use scale(x, y, z) before calling shape to stretch in 3 axes (most likely you want to use the same values for x, y, z, which would be around 300-500 given your code)

//Imports the sound library to allow sounds to be played
//Imports Peasy, a library used to create interactive cameras.