Lag, fullScreen and anything you can think of

Hello There,

I’m new to processing and this forum, this is actually my first post. I’ve been using processing for a small project, a simple platformer with 4 levels. I’m aware that processing doesn’t specialize in game development but there are a few things I’d like to ask as a beginner now that I’ve finished making my game and I’ve been trying to improve it.

I’m using the default renderer as all of my objects / backgrounds are 2D images. All of the images move, at different speeds, when the player moves. The game runs fine but I’d like to improve the frame rate even more. I know this is hard to answer without providing my code but, what is the best way to accomplish this? It should be mentioned that whenever I draw an image I resize it and I calculate the image’s coordinates in each frame.

1 - To draw each image I just use the image(x, y, width, height) function. Should I avoid doing this? Most of the youtube tutorials I’ve watched use this way of printing stuff to the screen.

2 - Would making threads that calculate the images’ coordinates and test if there is collision with the objects help in any way? At the moment every single calculation is done by the one and only main thread.

3 - As far as I know, the default renderer doesn’t occupy the GPU. I think P2D does (which doesn’t work for my code) . Is there any way to occupy the GPU while using the default renderer? Would this even help my game run better?