Just a little help

Hi, sorry but would someone be able to explain why this code runs fine 7 times in a row and then fails on the 8th. Nothing changes.
This is almost certainly not the correct way to code this, but I am still learning.
Thanks, and apologies if this is really stupid.

https://editor.p5js.org/cjstanleywinter/sketches/TKADWBYMT

Your sketch keeps calling currentScreen++;, so the value in currentScreen keeps going up.

This is, essentially, what moves the narrative along.

But then you also do this:

let sentences = narrative.screens[currentScreen].sentences;

This works fine for the first screen, and the second, and a few more.
But eventually it runs into a problem
See, the array narrative.screens has a fixed size. One that currentScreen will eventually exceed. And at that point, you’re trying to access an array element that isn’t there. And that’s a problem.

The issue is similar to this. Here’s my shopping list:

/// SHOPPING LIST:
0) Milk.
1) Eggs.
2) Sugar.
3) Carrots.
4) Ham.

If I asked you for item #0 on the list, you can tell me easily: Milk.

If I asked for item #3 on the list: Carrots.

Clearly this is a list of five things. So what’s the #5 item on this list?

PROBLEM.

The list might be 5 things long, but there’s no #5 item on the list!

Your code is running into exactly the same issue. Except your shopping list is narrative.screens and the item number is currentScreen.

1 Like

Hi,
thank you so much for the reply,

but I’m not sure that particular problem is the reason for this not working.
Because if I comment out the middle ‘else if’ statement it continues through the array as intended.

Something in the if-statement is causing it to not work past index 7 of the array but I don’t see what it could be.

(edited working version)
https://editor.p5js.org/cjstanleywinter/sketches/TKADWBYMT

Cannot read property 'sentences' of undefined (sketch: line 55)

Okay, fair. Maybe it can’t load a 10th narrative?