Is there a way to visually stretch a processing sketch?

Hi,

Is there a way to stretch a Processing sketch? Either in a vertical or horizontal direction? This is a general question and something I would like to apply to several Processing sketches I’m working on, either in 2D or 3D.

What I mean is, if we were to stretch something in a horizontal direction everything would get longer horizontally, eventually everything would just look like horizontal lines if stretched far enough.

I am guessing the entire output would have to be put through some kind of filter or effect to be able to do this. If anyone has any ideas how to approach this please let me know.

thanks, Nick

1 Like

You mean the output on the screen, or while animating? You could get() it into a PImage and then resize using the width/height parameters.

1 Like

Hi noel,

Thanks for the suggestion.

I’ve never used get() before.

Is this how you would use it?

int xstretch = width;      // how much I want to stretch the width
  int ystretch = height;     // how much I want to stretch the height
  PImage screen;

screen =  get(xstretch, ystretch);

I see there’s an object called copy() too. Maybe I will look into that too.

No, you use screen = get(xstartpoint, ystartpoint, desired_width, desired_height); to get what you desire which is on screen and than use screen.resize(desired_width, desired_height); to ‘stretch’.

3 Likes

@noel,

Thanks for the insight into that. I was able to get some results. It seems a little slow and buggy though. And one time I received an error that said with my graphics card I cant go above 15000 for the screen dimentions. I guess what I am going for is an extreme stretch where the shapes just become lines.

I am posting my code. I am using a midi controller and sending OSC messages into Processing, so that’s what some of this code is related to.

If anyone has an idea to improve upon this let me know.

import oscP5.*;

//OSC receive
OscP5 oscP5;