Is there a way to have an image on top of animation?

Hi,
I’m very new to processing, so I’m sorry if I make many mistakes! I have to use processing for a project and I was able to get this down:

Lines[] lines = new Lines[100];

void setup(){
size(800,800);
for(int i = 0; i < lines.length; i++){
lines[i] = new Lines();
}
}

void draw(){
background(0);
for(int i = 0; i < lines.length; i++){
lines[i].update();
lines[i].show();
}
}

class_lines
class Lines {
float x;
float y;

Lines(){
y = random (0,300);
}

void update(){
y=y-2;
if (y<0){
y = height;
}
}

void show(){
stroke(255);
line(x,y,width,y);
}
}

Is there a way to place an image into here without the moving lines being drawn on top of it? I want to have the lines move under a png file, but I can’t seem to figure out if there’s a way to do this.
Any help would be great! Thanks!

You load your image in setup and then add the image in your sketch in the last step of draw(). The image will be drawn on top of the animation, or the animation will play behind the drawn image.

Kf

That was easy, thank you! Another issue I had was that the lines don’t start at the bottom once I run the sketch. How can I fix this? In other words, what I’m trying to do is have the lines start at the bottom and go up to the top in a continuous loop.

Wouldn’t you change this: y = random (0,300);

for y= random(height,height*2);?

This makes sure lines are drawn randomly below the bottom edge of your sketch. The line swill start moving up and when they reach the top of the sketch, they cycle back to the bottom. Notice initially all the lines are drawn in between height and height*2 meaning that those lines will not be visible. Doing this will ensure

1. All line start at the bottom
  2. All lines are randomly distributed when they start moving up.

Kf