Is there a better way to draw gradient colored ellipse?

I’m pretty new to Processing and graphical programming but keen to learn new stuff. I was trying to create a gradient colored sun for my project but I couldn’t find any obvious technique to do this. This is the solution I came up with:

void setup() {
  size(600,600);
  for (float k = 0; k < PI/2; k += PI/1000) {    // looping through the highest point of the circle to the middle
    float xMul = cos(k);
    float yMul = sin(k);
    float x = xMul * height/4;
    float y = yMul * height/4;
    stroke(map(k,0,PI/2,255,255),map(k,0,PI/2,255,0),0);    // defining the color gradient by the Y coordinate
    line(width/2-x,height/2-y,width/2+x,height/2-y);    // drawing the top part of the circle
    line(width/2-x,height/2+y,width/2+x,height/2+y);
  }
}

It’s all in the setup method for simplicity. But anyways, I was wondering if there would be some more efficient way to do this. With my solution the program executes quite a many rows of code to accomplish such a simple task. Any ideas?

That is one way to dray the circle, for a smoother color ramp you can use lerpColor().
https://processing.org/reference/lerpColor_.html

Here another of many ways to accomplish this …

void setup() {
  size(500, 500);
  noStroke();
  background(3, 7, 11);

drawSunGradient(color(#F0BA70), color(#C12600), 450, 3);
}

void drawSunGradient(color fromColor, color toColor, final int diam, final int inc) {
  for (int x = diam; x > 0; x -= inc) {
    float inter = map(x, 0, diam, 0, 1.0);
    color lerpedColor = lerpColor(fromColor, toColor, inter);
    fill(lerpedColor);
    circle(width*0.5, height*0.5, x);
  }
}

Hello,

Advanced topic…

This may be of interest:

You can create an image with Processing, other tools or use an existing one (with permission if needed).

:)

Welcome to the forum! :slight_smile: