Input Data from Command Line

I am trying to create a system to test motors and propellers and include a nice GUI using Processing. I am using an Arduino to measure some data but am also using certain other measurement tools that need to be plugged directly into the computer. Is it possible for Processing to read serial data from the Arduino as well as the computer’s command lines? I’m still relatively new to Processing so I’m not sure how to stream in data from anything other than the Arduino.

1 Like

I did not need to list this but did anyway!

It all started here:

I have had success with these individually and in combination to create some very cool projects:

1. Serial communications
    Electronics / Processing.org
  • Processing to\from Ardunio
  • Processing to\from Processing
  • Processing to applications that use serial communications
  • Processing to any hardware that has serial communications
  1. Network Client to Server
    Network / Processing.org

2. Data from Network and PC
    https://processing.org/tutorials/data/
    XML, JSON, tables, text files, etc.

3. Sound
    Sound / Processing.org

4. Interactivity:
    Interactivity / Processing.org

• keyboard, mouse and check out tools and libraries!
  1. Print
    Print / Processing.org

2. GUI interface to run a command-line tool
    I used some JAVA directly for this in the Processing applications.
    It was to control my LCD screen colors; I created an interface to a free command-line tool that did this.

3. Video
    Video / Processing.org

4. And… check out the tools and libraries in the Processing software!

5. And… there are other modes like Android mode!
    Ketai libraries:
    http://ketai.org/

I mostly just tinker with it as a hobby and posted some videos here:

:slight_smile:

3 Likes

This is a few years old but still works with W10

This is a version 0.1 of mouse buttons sending command-line arguments to an app (app not included here):

import java.io.*;
String str1 = "3000";