Increase the length of object array

Hello Everyone,

I’m just learning to use classes and I wanted to use an array to create the objects. I have it set up so that when I click it creates a new object at the mouses position. What I am wondering is how I can increase the length of the array so that I can always add another object. I couldn’t get expand to work

Thanks

My Code:

TestClass[] test = new TestClass[1];
int called = 0;

void setup() {
  size(800, 801);
  fill(#000000);
}

void draw() {
  background(#ffffff);
  for(int i = 0; i < called; i++){
  test[i].update();
  test[i].doDraw();
  }
}

void mousePressed(){

test = expand(test, test.length + 1);
  test[called] = new TestClass(5, mouseX, mouseY);  
  called += 1;

}

class TestClass {
  int y, x, upDown;

TestClass(int in, int x1, int y1){
  y = y1;
  x = x1;
  upDown = in;
  }

void update() {
    if (y <= 0) {
      upDown = upDown * -1;
    } else if (y >= height) {
      upDown = upDown * -1;
    }
    y += upDown;
  }

void doDraw(){
    fill(#000000);
    ellipse(x, y, 10, 10);
  }
}

Please Format your code correctly. You can do so by pressing Strg+T in Processing and copying it in the place created by the </> sign When Sending the Post/ editing it.

And why don‘t you just set called to 0?
And what didn‘t work? Everything seems right to me…

Alright, I did that.

Not really sure what I was thinking when I set called to 1

Ok, test = expand(test, test.length+1) seemed better, to just add one free space for each Single Addition, not double the size each Time one gets added.

And you Should set the first testClass in setup, to avoid Setting it in mousePressed. And then use called+1 in mousePressed to set the new object, and not the one created before. Could cause problems later on.

Ya, I did have that, it still gives me an error though

"Type mismatch, “java.lang.Object” does not match with “class_test.TestClass[]”