How to redraw while in another method?

I’m making a programming game for kids to learn to program using processing and python. It involves a wombat which picks up leaves in tiles and there may be some obstacles like rocks. This might be familiar to you if you did something in Greenfoot. I am making it in python though, and have little experience with Processing.

The wombatgame file runs the game. The leaves, rocks, world, and wombat are objects. A world is created with a wombat and some leaves. I then have a player class which is where the kids will program the wombat to do certain tasks. In the code(main method in player class) included I have a wombat which makes 4 steps in the direction it is facing.

The problem is that the wombat will move(x and y variables are changing for it) but it won’t display every movement until the end. It teleports instead of showing the user every step graphically. I commented out the world.play() user code in the draw() function because that is not where I want to put it. It teleports because it can only update the screen though world.display() when the world.play() method has finished. I call redraw in the wombat class after a movement which should run the world.display() method but it doesn’t do the code in the draw() function(which has world.display()) until world.play() is finished. I need to figure out how to redraw while running world.play()

Here is the code:

Any suggestions on how to improve the code or organization of the game are welcome.

1st thing I’ve noticed is that you have loadImage() inside your classes.

It means that the very same image resource is gonna be unnecessarily reloaded & stored as another PImage object each time a new instance is created!

As a rule of thumb, load all resources in setup() and store them in global arrays.

Your classes can then access those resources directly or request them in their constructor.

1 Like