How to multiply (a + bi)(a + bi) with this Complex Number Class?

I found an example for complex number set multiplication, but I’m new to classes and math functions in processing. I know that the class sets up the operations, though have no idea how to use it. Can someone give an example of how to actually use this to solve the multiplication of (a + bi)(a + bi)?

class Complex {
    double real;   // the real part
    double img;   // the imaginary part

public Complex(double real, double img) {
        this.real = real;
        this.img = img;
    }

public Complex multi(Complex b) {
        double real = this.real * b.real - this.img * b.img;
        double img = this.real * b.img + this.img * b.real;
        return new Complex(real, img);
    }
}
Complex first = new Complex(a, b);
complex result =  first.multi(first);
1 Like

The code you have defines what a complex number is. It also defines the operations you can do with complex numbers; there are two such operations:

• Create a complex number by specifying the real and imaginary part. This is the constructor, Complex().
  • Multiply a complex number with another complex number. This is multi().

You then have two lines of code that appear to be using these two operations. The constructor, however, is using variables a and b that are not defined. The result of squaring the first complex number, first, is then stored in the complex number called result. Sadly, this result is not displayed (nor could it be, as a and b were never defined).

I would add a describe() operation that tells you about a complex number. Then I would define the a and b variables before using them. And I would also log the description of the result.

Like so:

class Complex {
    double real;   // the real part
    double img;   // the imaginary part

Complex(double real, double img) {
        this.real = real;
        this.img = img;
    }

Complex multi(Complex b) {
        double real = this.real * b.real - this.img * b.img;