How to make this boxes animation

Hi guys,
This is my first post here and I’m a beginner so I’m happy for you to explain anything you feel is relevant or link me any good resources. I have watched all the Daniel Shiffman (love that guy!) videos.

I’m thinking it might be fun to make a simple animation kinda like the Netflix UI.
Here is a picture:

I just knocked this up in GIMP but how would one go about making some simple boxes like this and then make them kinda rotate around in a circle so the middle one smoothly grows to double size when you click. Maybe make the border light up for the middle one too so it would have to be a rounded corner box inside another rounded corner box I think.

Any ideas? Thanks!

This is how I would do it:

-When you click on the box, translate() to the centre coordinates of that box (making sure you use push and pop matrix round all of this stuff) and rotate the box a set amount each frame. This would be TAU / the number of frames of the animation.

-Then draw the box but make the size the original size + the original size * the frames since the animation started / the number of frames of the animation

-Do the same in reverse when you want to go back again.

Does this work and answer your question?

Also, can you explain what you mean by this:

-The Wizard Bear

P.S. This is my first proper post here too. :grin:

Thanks for your response, I’ll try some of your ideas tomorrow.

The bit about the border lighting up. I just mean the blue border of the box might change to a brighter blue when it becomes the large middle box. So I meant to say, I don’t think it would work as an image, it would be better to use the rectangle function in Processing and layer 2 on top of each other so you could control the colours individually.

Yeah, you could create a variable to keep track of the color–using HSB color mode would make it easier to merge from a blue to a lighter blue.

You said: