How to make a custom event

Hey there,

I’m currently making a small game and I wanted to implement different screens so I would have a Main Screen, a Settings Screen, and a Game Screen. So first I wanted to set up the main screen and it would contain some buttons. I wrote a custom Button class for easier management and a custom class for the main screen.

My problem is that I want to do a detection for when the button has been clicked using the mouse. In my button class, I can detect the click (and also check if it even clicked inside of the buttons hitbox) but I don’t know how I would pass the information about the click on to the main screen.

So I was thinking about making a custom event: ButtonClick. But I have no knowledge of how to create custom events and how to trigger it. So if anyone could help me with figuring out how to make a custom event then that would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

// Menu Class
class MenuScreen extends Screen {
  ArrayList buttons = new ArrayList<>();

MenuScreen() {
    buttons.add("Test", 35, width / 2, height / 2, 100, 50);
  }

void display() {
    //Display layout
  }
}

// Button Class
class Button {
  float dx, dy, x, y, sizeX, sizeY;
  String text;
  int textSize;
  boolean isActive;

Button(String text, int textSize, float x, float y, float sizeX, float sizeY) {
    this.text = text;
    this.textSize = textSize;
    this.x = x;
    this.dx = dx - sizeX / 2;
    this.y = y;
    this.dy = dy - sizeY / 2;
    this.sizeX = sizeX;
    this.sizeY = sizeY;
  }

// Detect button click
  void mouseReleased() {
    if (this.isActive)
      if (this.dx <= mouseX && this.dx + this.sizeX >= mouseX)
        print("Clicked");
        // Call custom event here
  }
}