How to import the Blob class?

Apologies for what is probably a painfully basic question. I’m new to Processing, but I’m not new to media programming (19+ year user of SuperCollider, 2-3 years teaching with Pure Data). Processing 3.5.4.

I am seeing a number of code examples online using the Blob class. (The goal is to supplement some image processing in Pure Data with blobby goodness – Pd’s Gem external claims to have a blob tracker but it’s slow enough to be unusable. That’s fine because Pd focuses on audio rather than video processing – so the lesson for the students will be how to integrate with other tools that are better suited to the task.)

Trying it for myself, I got as far as opening and displaying the camera :+1: and instantiating an OpenCV object :+1: but it chokes on ‘Cannot find a class or type named “Blob”’.

I tried several Google searches about “processing language Blob class” and I find many, many pages about how to use Blob, but nothing about where it’s defined. I can’t even find a reference for the class.

Then I noticed that these code examples all(?) import hypermedia.video.*;.

Processing IDE → Import Library → Add Library → search “hyper” oh, well, there’s nothing. Search “video” and several packages do show up, but there is no indication in the window which one of those might be hypermedia.

I also see that there is a BlobDetection library, but I’m not sure this is the right one because I didn’t see import blobDetection.*; in any of the examples (and blobs comes from the OpenCV object anyway).

So… this incoming user is experiencing a disconnect between examples and documentation.

Where do I get Blob?

hjh

Working example, displaying camera:

import processing.video.*;

Capture video;

void setup() {
  size(640, 480);
  video = new Capture(this, 640, 480);
  video.start();
}

void draw() {
  if (video.available() == true) {
    video.read();
  };
  image(video, 0, 0);
}

This sketch can’t find Blob:

import gab.opencv.*;