Handling rotary encoder signals

I’m working on a project that uses this rotary encoder to control an onscreen element. I believe I understand how rotary encoders work in that there are two pins (A & B) that produce high or low pulses based on the direction of rotation and this rotation can be used to, for example, increment or decrement a counter based on the direction and amount of rotation.

I’ve adapted this guide to Processing and it works fine as long as I’m turning the encoder slowly, however if I do a quick turn the numbers seem to change almost at random (though the tend to - on the whole - decrement.) I’m new to physical computing but my instinct is that the signals are changing faster than processing is able to register them but I’m not quite sure how to route this problem or if my current approach is even correct.

This is for an art piece so I don’t care about exact measurement, directional changes would be fine. Code below and any suggestions really appreciated :slight_smile:

import processing.io.*;

// Variables to track pulse states
int currentA;
int previousA;
int currentB;
int counter = 0;

void setup() {
  // pinA setup
  GPIO.pinMode(22, GPIO.INPUT_PULLUP);
  previousA = GPIO.digitalRead(22);

// pinB setup
  GPIO.pinMode(27, GPIO.INPUT_PULLUP);
}

void draw() {
  currentA = GPIO.digitalRead(22);  
  currentB = GPIO.digitalRead(27);

// has the A pin changed?
  if (currentA != previousA) {
    // if it has is it different than the value of pinB?
    if (currentA != currentB) {
      // if so we're turning clockwise
      counter++;
    } else {
      // otherwise we're turning counterclockwish
      counter--;
    }    
  } 

// set previousA to currentA
  previousA = currentA;

println(counter);
}

Thanks!

2 Likes

Hey,