Fixing bullet trajectory

Hello Everyone!!!

I am relatively new to Processing as a whole and would like some assistance.
I am trying to make a spaceship game where when the player presses the w key it fires a bullet

Unfortunately, the bullet only fires once and starts its trajectory at y = 400.

How do I fix these problems? I would like code and an explanation on why it is doing this and how to fix a problem like this if it returns in the future.

Help is greatly appreciated!

class ship(object):
    def __init__ (self, xpos, ypos, speed):
        self.xpos = xpos
        self.ypos = ypos
        self.speed = speed

def show(self):
        fill(0, 255, 0)
        noStroke()
        rect(self.xpos, self.ypos, 50, 50) 

class bullet(object):
    def __init__ (self, xpos, ypos, speed):
        self.xpos = xpos
        self.ypos = ypos
        self.speed = speed

def show(self):
        fill(255, 0, 0)
        noStroke()
        rect(self.xpos + 22, self.ypos - 10, 10, 10)

def keyPressed():
    if(keyCode == UP):
        s.ypos -= s.speed
    if(keyCode == DOWN):
        s.ypos += s.speed
    if (keyCode == LEFT):
        s.xpos -= s.speed
    if (keyCode == RIGHT):
        s.xpos += s.speed
    return(s.xpos, s.ypos)

def keyReleased():
    if(keyCode == UP):
        s.ypos -= 0
    if(keyCode == DOWN):
        s.ypos += 0
    if(keyCode == LEFT):
        s.xpos -= 0
    if(keyCode == RIGHT):
        s.xpos += 0

def setup():
    size(800, 800)
    global s
    global b
    s = ship(200, 400, 20)
    b = bullet(s.xpos, s.ypos, 3)

def draw():
    background(0)
    s.show()
    if(key == 'w'):
            b.xpos = s.xpos
            bxpos -= b.speed
            b.show()
1 Like

You’ll need a list to hold multiple bullets (I’m assuming that you can fire more than one), which you then update on a per-frame basis. I’ve adapted the last bit of your code to make it work. Note that I also elected to use a keyPressed function.

def setup():
    size(800, 800)
    global s