Failed To Fetch Error

I am a teacher of a beginning coding class in P5 and our class project is to create a themed Maze Game with all the typical features of a maze. Since the students need to pick a theme, I’ve asked them to upload and display images, which I have taught before. Last Thursday, October 19, half of the students received a Failed to Fetch error, when trying to display images that they had loaded. The other half had no issues; I was reviewing their work today and trying to understand why the Failed to Fetch error appears. I have a link from the P5 editor where the error appears and another link from the openprocessing editor where the same code does not give the Failed to fetch error; in fact, the code works as intended. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, as the explanations I read in the forum about Failed to fetch went beyond my knowledge.
Thank you,
Ed

1 Like

Updating the situation… perhaps you have checked the links in my original post and seen that the Failed to fetch error no longer occurs. That was great, but today I had half my class with Failed to fetch errors . All of these students’ codes worked at the end of the previous class session. The other half of my class had no problems. I am wondering if there are any file upload limits that might be preventing some students’ files from loading?
I am also wondering if this can be attributed to P5 servers being overloaded. Perhaps I should track the times of day when the Failed to fetch errors occur
The problem occurs with jpeg, png and webp files. The problem sometimes goes away if I take the files out of an images folder and update the loadImage code accordingly with the new file path. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Hi, I’m having issue with the failed to fetch error in p5 web editor too. Here’s an exemple with a simple sketch only loading sound and image : p5.js Web Editor
If you comment the loadImage and image functions, you will notice sound is loaded properly.