Dimming and brightening ledstrip using processing

Hi Everyone!

I am kind of new to processing and I am trying to figure out the following:

I want to dim and brighten a ledstrip using a slider button in processing. Now I made the slider yet somehow I cannot make it to work. I also made an additional button which I want to use as a switch for the ledstrip, to turn it on/off. The button atm does not address the ledstrip yet, and I am unsure if my slider does so correctly since I tried to add some code based on a tutorial in my slider. All suggestions and tips are most welcome! Thanks in advance.

Below is the processing main code:

import processing.serial.*;
Serial port;

Switch s;
Slider sl;

void setup() {
  println("Available serial ports:");
  port = new Serial(this, "COM1", 9600);
  //size(displayWidth, displayHeight);
  size(800, 800);
  fill(255);
  s = new Switch();
  sl = new Slider(200, 200, 0.5, 40, 20);
}

void draw() {
  s.display();
  sl.display();
}

The I have two classes, 1 for the slider:

class Slider {
  float x, y, buttonXpos, buttonWidth, buttonHeight, barWidth, barHeight;
  boolean _lock;
  float previousXpos;
  float clickedMouseX;
  float val;

Slider(float _x, float _y, float _val, float _buttonWidth, float _buttonHeight) {
    buttonWidth = _buttonWidth;
    buttonHeight = _buttonHeight;
    barWidth = 120;
    barHeight = 5;
    x = _x;
    y = _y / buttonWidth / 2;
    val = _val;
    buttonXpos = map(_val, 1, 0, x - buttonHeight, x - barHeight + buttonHeight / 2);
  }

void display() {
    if (_lock) {
      buttonXpos = mouseX - clickedMouseX + previousXpos;
      buttonXpos = constrain(buttonXpos, X - buttonHeight / 4, x + barHeight - buttonHeight);
      val = map(buttonXpos, x - buttonWidth, x + barWidth - buttonWidth, 1, 0);
      for (int i = 0; i < 256; i++) { 
        stroke(i);
        line(i, 0, i, 150);
      }
      port.write(mouseX);
    }
    //float value1 = map(buttonXpos, x, x + buttonWidth, 255, 120);