Digital Clock Made from image

Hi!
I am very very new to processing. I did a few classes with the basics but I cannot wrap my head around it.

I am trying to make a clock from pictures of numbers that I have taken.
I have pictures of 0,1, 2, 3 … 9 and I would like to make a functioning clock where the images change according to the actual time. Kind of like four slide shows next to each other changing independently.

So, let’s say the time is 13:10 I would have an image of 1, 3, 1 and 0.

I think I can figure out how to place the images and make a slide show but I am not sure how to code it to the actual time, or assign an image to a minute or hour. I would appreciate any help or direction.

Thanks!

you could store you images in an array and address them by using the hour and minutes functions built into processing i’ll only include the hour function as it contains an example of minutes and seconds as well (i know you’re not using seconds but still nice to have the option)

hour

so basically you would take the hour and

/this is terrible but gives you an idea of what to do for each digit
  //to get an index into your image array

//get the hour
  String h = str(hour());
  //get the first digit of the hour string as an int to use as an index into the image array
  int h1 = int(str(h.charAt(0)));
  //get the second digit of the hour string as an int to use as an index into the image array
  int h2 = int(str(h.charAt(1)));

//test we have the correct values
  println("h1: " + h1);
  println("h2: " + h2);

Thank you for your reply. Thank you for the seconds suggestion!

This is the Array I have, I don’t understand how to combine this array with your suggestion. could you please explain me a bit more ho to get from the array to the string?

I thought I will attach a screenshot from a mock-up I made in photoshop to illustrate what I mean.

PImage p0, p1, p2, p3, p4, p5, p6, p7, p8, p9;
PImage [] picArray = new PImage[10];

void setup (){
size(900,600);