Difficulty with mouseX & mouseY

I am VERY new to Java programming, (about a week now), and trying to complete a very simple Simon Says type game, (where you click on the colored boxes that randomly flash).

My is I can’t get my mouse X & Y coordinates to work. I’ve tried 2 different ways at the same time:

import java.awt.*;
    Point p = MouseInfo.getPointerInfo().getLocation();
    int x = p.x;
    int y = p.y;
    println(x,y,mouseX,mouseY,);

When I click on the play button I get this:

The x,y for the getLocation work, but only for the monitor coordinates, NOT the new windows location. The mouseX&mouseY only give me zeros.

But the funny thing is that as soon as I move my mouse cursor over to my 2nd computer monitor I get this:

(sorry, I can’t post 2 images since I’m a new user)

The mouseX & mouseY update once, and only once, when I move it to the 2nd monitor. Then they remain the same until I move my mouse back to the first monitor, and then back again to the 2nd monitor, at which point they update once and then stay the same.

My getLocation X&Y work fine, but then only return the monitor position, NOT the position within the new window that get’s opened for my simon says game.

I’m not sure if there is some issue with my monitor drivers interfering with something or what. I’ve got just a basic Windows 10 computer with a 2nd monitor, nothing fancy.

Any help with this would be very much appreciated.
Thanks.
Ted

1 Like

Hi Ted,