Detect collision side for balls and rectangles

I am creating a “physics simulation” with objects that are affected by gravity, friction and wind. The main object is a ball that bounces around the screen, in realistic ways according to the physics modifiers the user can set. I thought it would be cool if users could add boxes for the ball to collide with, however I have found myself stuck trying to make this collision work. This is much harder than regular circle-rectangle collision because I need to know the side(s) the ball hit in order to accurately change the velocity. The best I can do is collision on one axis (for example the y axis, so the ball can bounce correctly off the top and bottom of the rectangle), but whenever I try to add the second axis to the mix it doesn’t work out due to some flaw in my code. This has been really difficult for me, especially since I’m not good with trigonometry (and therefore am avoiding it). Some help would be very appreciated :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi @turke1034 ,

Check this out…

Hope it helps.

Cheers
— mnse

@mnse Yeah, a short while after posting this I stumbled onto that article. It’s great, and I have my ball able to bounce as expected on all 4 sides. However when colliding near the edges, the ball acts strangely.

1 Like

please show your code segment with the collision - or even a run-able Sketch

Check:

String intersects(Ball ball, Block block)
    {
        String side = "none";

float testX = ball.vector.x;
        float testY = ball.vector.y;

if (ball.vector.x < block.vector.x)
        {
            testX = block.vector.x;
            side = "left";
        }
        else if (ball.vector.x > block.vector.x + block.width)
        {
            testX = block.vector.x + block.width;
            side = "right";
        }
        if (ball.vector.y < block.vector.y)
        {
            testY = block.vector.y;
            side = "top";
        }
        else if (ball.vector.y > block.vector.y + block.height)