Controlling the drawing flow of Processing

Hello, this is my first message here.

I’ve been developing for 3 years a library called JMathAnim to create mathematical animations, as an alternative to the Python manim library. So far it uses JavaFX as a renderer, but its 3D capabilities are very limited and I’m considering implementing it using Processing.
The problem is that, from what I’ve seen, the flow of a program in Processing is a continuous loop of the draw() method.
My library uses a method similar to manim. For example:

Shape c=Shape.circle(); //Create a circle. No frame is generated.
play.showCreation(c);//Play a circle creation animation, 3 seconds long. Creates several frames and encodes them into a video queue.
waitSeconds(3);//Creates 3 seconds of static image.Creates several frames and encodes them into a video queue.

and the program ends its execution. I want Processing to take care of rendering the objects on demand, and I would like to know if I can control the call to the draw() method manually and without a continuous loop.
Thanks!!

2 Likes

Hello @DavidGR74,

Lots to explore here:

See:

:)

2 Likes

Hello again @DavidGR74,

You can also use a timer.

One example here:
timer | Learning Processing 2nd Edition

There is a delay() function but it clearly states:

For instance, you cannot use delay() to control the timing of an animation.

Thank you glv, but it is not what I’m looking. What I am trying to achieve is to call manually every render of a frame from my own program loop, in order to use Process as a on-demand renderer.

Thank you very much! I will take a deep look at that methods.

Hello,

Can you elaborate?

These may be of interest:

Thank you, yes, the PGraphics class can be useful.
The current version of my library uses methods to generate video animations. I do this by progressively creating frames with each command and encoding them into a movie. For example:

//Creates a Shape object but not any frame
Shape c=Shape.square();