Constellation with noise

Hi there!

I am trying to make a loop of points with different distances and sizes beetween them, but something softer that I can get with random. I have started to use noise function, but it is my very first time, so I am not really sure about what I am doing. I haven been able to play with distances between points (although I don’t control it completely), but I can not change sizes without doing a mess. I have tried to use float o as strokeWeight but it does not work, I am looking for very small variations between sizes. Could you please help me?

:stars:

`float u = 0;
float v = 0;
//float w = 0;
size(1000,1000);
background(255);
strokeCap(ROUND);

//firs pattern

stroke(255,0,255);
for (int x = 0; x < 1000; x += 20) {
for (int y = 0; y < 1000; y += 20) {
u = u + 0.1;
v = v + 0.11;
//w = w + 0.001;
float n = noise(u) * width;
float m = noise(v) * width;
//float o = noise(w) * width;
strokeWeight(4);
point(n, m);

}
}`

You might try using a randomly generated number set between limits for strokeWeight. That would change the size. See how that effects your image. Reference / Processing.org

Thank you, @The_Traveler , but I would like to make sizes similiars to the sizes of the near dots, so I guess I need to use noise, not random. I think I have to use noise function in a different way that I used it with distances, but I really don’t know. I have tried with noise detail but obviously I am not doing right and I don’t even know it that is what I need. So could you please help me?

float u = 0;
float v = 0;

float noiseVal;
float noiseScale=0.02;

size(1000,1000);
background(255);
strokeCap(ROUND);

//firs pattern

stroke(255,0,255);
u = u + 0.1;
v = v + 0.11;

noiseDetail(3,0.5);
noiseVal = noise(3) * noiseScale;

strokeWeight(noiseVal);
point(n, m);

}
}

I also have tried making step counters for strokeWeight with a maximum range (noiseScale), but it did not work so I am really lost now. Could someone help me a bit with this, please?