Confused as to how I could implement a sorting algorithm in Processing

Hi, I’m just getting started in programming and have been working with Processing for a couple of months now, but haven’t found a solution to a rather advanced (for me) problem concerning solving and projecting an array being sorted. I’m not asking how sorting algorithms work, but more of how to organize them in terms of a global draw loop or something of the sort.

Here’s how I implemented bubble sort basically: I had a single draw() loop execute a single full loop of the bubble sort algorithm, not the full thing, just a single iteration. It would then draw the current look of the array in whatever way I wanted.

This worked fine, but only for bubble sort. And it seemed to be limited by the fact that if I wanted a different algorithm, I would need checks for what ‘stage’ of the algorithm I’m at, and if I wanted a different array, if I wanted to be able to ‘rewind’ or ‘pause’ I would encounter problems, making the whole process super difficult to maintain.

The only solution I can think of requires exponential amounts of RAM for everything I want to show changes for, or would be tedious to show changes for.

Is there a good way to organize this? I’m not sure how, and the only good idea I have is using an Object for storing everything and calling a tick() method of sort which would complete one loop of whatever it was on.

I kind of wish I was just able to do a draw tick while inside of a loop, being able to just call display(), sleep 0.01 seconds and then the loop continues, but unfortunately, no such thing.

I hope you guys understand what I’m talking about because everyone I’ve talked to shakes their head and says “I don’t know”.

i think HE would understand you
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kPRA0W1kECg !

you see this already:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=67k3I2GxTH8 ?

This has been discussed before so you might read this discussion

Most sort algorithms have two key activities