Can't find the missing curly bracket

I can’t find the error associated with <Syntax Error - Missing right curly bracket “}”> The problem is in the last few lines of code. Lines underscored by the debugger are indicated by //!! which I inserted after pasting here. I’m a beginner with this compiler and have yet to get the nuances of the error messages. The formatting I use takes a few more lines, but it helps me to see problems like this.

int hideColor = (#656565);
int x = 80;
int y = 80;
int red = #FF0000;
int green = #00FF00;
int yellow = #FFFF00;
int lightGreen = #66FF66;
int white = #FFFFFF;
int black = #000000;
int boxMaxX;
int boxMaxY;
int boxMinX;
int boxMinY;
int colorValue;
float Xpos;
float Ypos;

void setup()
{
  fullScreen();
  background (100);
//setup initial image
  rectMode(CENTER);
  noStroke();
  fill(lightGreen);
  rect (x, y, 30, 22);
  stroke(black);
  strokeWeight(6);
  line(x, y-11, 80, y-40);
//rect limits
  boxMaxX = x + 15;
  boxMinX = x - 15;
  boxMaxY = y + 11;
  boxMinY = y - 11;
}
void draw ()
{
  rectMode(CENTER);
  noStroke();
  fill(colorValue);
  rect (x, y, 30, 22);
}

void mouseClicked()
{
  if ((mouseY > (y - 11)) && (mouseY < (y + 11)) && (mouseX < (x + 15)) && (mouseX > (x - 15)))
  {   //!!
    If (colorValue == lightGreen)
    {
      colorValue = Red;
    } 
    else  //!!
    {
      colorValue = lightGreen;
    }
  }
}  //!!

Your second if in mouseClicked() is not if, it’s If.

That might be the problem.

3 Likes

You’ve also got red in one place and Red in another. The image is black so I don’t think your setup rect fill is being applied. …Or it is being applied and draw() is wrecking it because initially it doesn’t know the value of colorValue.

Bad IF. Fixed it. Once the If was fixed the Red became obvious. Works fine.

This is what I see when running your code in Java mode on a Mac after making the changes that you described. The rectangle is black and stays black no matter how many times I click on it.

output