Can't figure out how to fix this NullPointerException

I am new to Processing, only have been working with it for a few months now, and I’m trying to create a program that takes data from Arduino and uses that to send out a tweet using Twitter4j.

I’ve narrowed down the code to where I think the problem areas might be, but I keep on getting the NullPointerException error where it says “sensorInt = int(sensorValue);”. I was wondering if anyone could help me out on this one. Thanks! :slight_smile:

Arduino arduino;
Twitter twitter;
Serial myPort;
String sensorValue;
int sensorInt;

void setup()
{  
  String portName = Serial.list()[5]; //change the 0 to a 1 or 2 etc. to match your port
  myPort = new Serial(this, portName, 9600);
  sensorInt = 246;

TwitterFactory tf = new TwitterFactory(cb.build());

twitter = tf.getInstance();
}  
void draw()
{
  sensorValue = trim(myPort.readStringUntil('\n'));
  sensorInt = int(sensorValue);
  println(sensorValue);
  if (sensorInt < 230)
  {
    tweet();
  }
  delay(500);
}```
1 Like

Two things jump out at me as being wrong immediately.

First, you’re getting a String for sensorValue, and then assuming that what you got was a String that looks like an int. This might not be the case. You should check for this situation to avoid the NPE you are getting:

if( sensorValue ) { // is not a null value
    // ..whatever else you do when you get a new value.
  }

The second mistake is the call to delay(500). You do not want this in your code AT ALL - especially not in your main draw loop!

… I feel like I haven’t stressed how wrong this is. Here is some insane gibberish ranting to drive the point home:

NO NO NO A MILLION TIMES NO DELAY IS NOT WHAT YOU WANT NO NO REMOVE IT NOT DELAY NO PLEASE LORD NOT DELAY DONT USE DELAY THAT IS NOT THE FUNCTION YOU WANT TO CAUSE A DELAY DONT USE DELAY NOT DELAY THAT IS WRONG AND BAD AND NO DONT USE DELAY

ahem

Instead, consider using millis():

int time;

// In setup(), time = millis();

void draw(){