Can somebody help me understand this awesome code?

I came across a really cool sketch in Open Processing. But it’s uncommented, and I’d like to better understand what’s going on. (I am really new to p5.js, but have been using Processing for a few months).

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone would be willing to help me understand how he is creating this effect – either by explaining at a high level, or adding some more comments to the code.

Link: https://www.openprocessing.org/sketch/654366

var inc = 0.1;
var scl = 10;
var cols;
var rows;

var zoff = 0;
var fr;
var particles = [];

var flowfeild;

var img;

function preload(){
	img = loadImage("starry.jpg");
}

function setup() {
createCanvas(img.width, img.height);

//colorMode(HSB, 255);
	cols = floor(width / scl);
	rows = floor(height / scl);

flowfield = new Array(cols * rows);

for (var i = 0; i < 800; i++) {
		particles[i] = new Particle();
	}
	background(255);
}

function draw(){
	//background(240);

var yoff = 0;

for (var y = 0; y < rows; y++) {
		var xoff = 0;
		for (var x = 0; x < cols; x++) {
			var index = x + y * cols;
			var angle = noise(xoff, yoff, zoff) * TWO_PI * 4;
			var v = p5.Vector.fromAngle(angle);
			v.setMag(1);
			flowfield[index] = v;
			xoff += inc;
			stroke(0, 50);
		}
		yoff += inc;

zoff += random(0.0001, 0.001);
	}

for (var i = 0; i < particles.length; i++) {
		particles[i].follow(flowfield);
		particles[i].update();
		particles[i].edges();
		particles[i].draw();
	}

}

class Particle{
	constructor(){

this.pos = createVector(random(width), random(height));
		this.vel = createVector(0, 0);
		this.acc = createVector(0, 0);

this.maxSpeed = 2;
		this.h = 0;
		this.cc = color(200, 0, 0);

this.prevPos = this.pos.copy();

}

update(){
			this.vel.add(this.acc);
			this.vel.limit(this.maxSpeed);
			this.pos.add(this.vel);
			this.acc.mult(0);
		}

follow(vectors){
			var x = floor(this.pos.x/scl);
			var y = floor(this.pos.y/scl);
			var index = x + y * cols;