Can one user library use another?

I am developing a library “muse” that uses the “oscP5” library. If I put my jar file in ~/Documents/Processing/libraries/muse/library/muse.jar, I am able to see the library in Processing. However, the dependent library, oscP5 (also located in the Processing libraries folder) is not found. If I include the contents of the oscP5 jar file inside my muse.jar file, everything works.

Is this expected? Is it possible for a user-contributed library to access another user-contributed library without including a copy of it in the jar file?

1 Like

I am not an expert, but what is your desired behavior – do you want:

1. install muse and it just works, regardless of whether dependency oscp5 is installed by user or not
  2. install muse and, if required, auto-install oscp5 in user contributions manager
  3. install muse and, if oscp5 is not installed by user in contributions manager, muse is broken and gives errors.

I’m not sure whether 2 is supported by the way PDE installers work. 3 seems like a bad idea – counter to the Processing ethos of making things work for beginners. That would mean 1 is the easiest way to go – the downside being that your library could be using a different version of oscp5 internally than the user has installed – but the upside being that if the user updates their oscp5, it will never suddenly break muse, as muse uses an internal copy that is frozen.

I do not know if you can have the same library multiple times under the Processing Library folder. I will need to confirm this. My suspicion arises from my experience dealing with other libraries that seem to be doing this. The PDE might be loading all the jars and it will show conflict/ambiguous messages.