Can anyone explain why this doesn't work?

Hey! I’m new to java and processing. I decided to follow a snake game tutorial for processing on youtube. After making it, I added some stuff myself and I also want to add a pause screen. So wrote thes to pause the game with tab:

void keyPressed() {
  if (keyCode == TAB) pause=true;
  if (pause == true) {
    if (keyCode == TAB) pause=false; 
  }
}

The first line works by itself. I added the other two lines to be able to close the pause menu with tab but it doesn’t. They also cancel out the first line and it doesn’t pause when clicked tab.
Can someone explain why this is not working?

Hi,

void keyPressed() {
  if(key == TAB)
    pause = !pause;
}

I think it should help.

My approach in these cases would be:

if (keyCode == TAB) pause = !pause;

To toggle the current state.

Kf

That worked! Thank you so much.

1 Like

It worked thanks! I also have another quick question:
The snake moves with arrow keys but in the current code, you can press the opposite key of its direction; making it colide with himself which ends the game (so for example you can press down while the snake is going up, making it trying to go down and game is over).
So I typed these lines to prevent that for the down arrow ( I would copy paste and edit this for the other keys if it worked) but it doesn’t work:

void keyPressed() {
  newdir=keyCode == DOWN? 0:(keyCode== UP? 1:(keyCode== RIGHT? 2:(keyCode== LEFT? 3:-1)));
  if (newdir != -1) direction = newdir;
// these lines in the bottom
  if(newdir == 1)
    newdir=keyCode == DOWN? 1:(keyCode== UP? 1:(keyCode== RIGHT? 2:(keyCode== LEFT? 3:-1)));

}

what can I do to make it work?

Welcome, I’m glad to help)

It is better to keep one question per post so each question gets the proper deserved attention.