Assigning function to a variable

Hello everybody! I’m a beginner at processing (but I have some experience with p5js and PJs).
I’m trying to find a way to assign a function to a variable. Essentially, I want to be able to set a function to a separate variable, and whenever that function is called, it calls my new function (which was defined by that variable)

Here’s the code I’m working with:

class button{
 float posx,posy,widt,heig;
 int buttonColor = color(0,0,0);
 boolean customFunc; //I've tried void, int, and bool. Nothing wants to work.
 button(float x, float y, float wid, float hei, int bColor, boolean func){
  posx = x;
  posy = y;
  widt = wid;
  heig = hei;
  buttonColor = bColor;
  customFunc = func; //HERE IS ANOTHER THINGY 
 }

void clickDet(){
  if(mouseX >= posx && mouseX <= posx+widt && mouseY >= posy && mouseY <= posy+heig){
    if(mouseButton1Click==1){
     println("CLICKED ME!");
   //HERE
    }
  }
 }

I can’t find a way to do this easily. I know I could use an array/list, but that wouldn’t be very efficient in the long run. I also don’t want to really assign each button a custom ID (but I probably will anyway for debugging).

I’ve made code for buttons using the JavaScript ports, but I can’t get anything to work here. Please help me out here guys!
EDIT: Here’s the code for my JavaScript buttons:

var button = function(config){
    this.x = config.x || 25;
    this.y = config.y || 25;
    this.w = config.w || 40;
    this.h = config.h || 25;
    this.textblack = config.tb || false;
    this.textlabel = config.label || "button";
    this.activate = config.activate || function(){}; //THIS IS WHAT I'M TRYING TO GET TO WORK IN PROCESSING
    this.chosenfont = config.tfont || "arial";
    this.textsiz = config.tsize || 10;

};
button.prototype.clickdet = function(){
    return mouseX >= this.x && mouseX <= (this.x + this.w) && mouseY >= this.y && mouseY <= (this.y + this.h) && mouse.clicked.m1; 
};
button.prototype.draw = function() {