Applying Specific Colors to Grid Array

Hi! I’m brand new to coding with P5JS and I need some help. I’m currently taking a class for it and I’ve been watching a bunch of The Coding Train videos. For my specific project I’m trying to implement 30 unique colors into a grid array. From class/watching videos I have learned how to apply random colors to a group of grid squares, but not how to apply a specific color to an individual one. I don’t need help with all of the squares, but if someone can help with a few squares I should hopefully be able to do the rest.

For an example, let’s say I want the color (255, 0, 0) in grid square (2,4), the color (0, 255, 0) in grid square (5,1), and the color (0, 0, 255) in grid square (3,6).

I have the grid set up-

Here’s the section of my code:

var cols = 5;
var rows = 6;

function setup(){
createCanvas(750,1125,WEBGL);
}

function draw(){
background (0);

translate(-width/2,-height/2);
for (var i= 0; i < cols; i++) {
	for (var j = 0; j < rows; j++) {
		var x = i * 150;
		var y = j * 187.5;
		stroke(0)
		fill(255);
		rect(x, y, 150, 187.5);
	}
}

Welcome @NeatCoder47

If you want to specify the colors for each cell in the grid, you could draw it from an array:

var colors = [
  // col 0     col 1      col 2
  ['#FF0000', '#00FF00', '#0000FF'], // row 0
  ['#FFFF00', '#00FFFF', '#FFFFFF']  // row 1
]

function setup(){
  createCanvas(300, 200);
}

function draw(){
  for (var row = 0; row < colors.length; row ++) {
    print(colors[row]); // print a row of color values
  }
}

You can modify the for loop to draw the grid arrangement you’re after.

Hello,

Take a look at this:

https://processing.org/tutorials/pixels/

In the section Pixels, pixels, and more pixels there are some good examples that you can adapt to your project.

There me be something similar in the P5.js resources.

:)