Android Studio: attempt to invoke virtual method on a null object reference

Hi, i’m new to this forum but i’ve already have some experience with Processing. Recently i started learning Android programming using Android Studio so i decided to setup the Processing core library. Inspired by a Shiffman’s video tutorial about object trails, my AS project is composed of:

• a Particle class in which an ArrayList (called history) saves the x-y coordinates of a ball. It contains an update() method for adding a random position to this array and a show() method that draws the ball and his trail:
package com.example.myfirstprocessingapp;

import java.util.ArrayList;
import processing.core.PApplet;

public class Particle extends PApplet {

private int x;
  private int y;
  private ArrayList<int[]> history = new ArrayList<int[]>();

public Particle (int x, int y) {
    this.x = x;
    this.y = y;
    this.history.add(new int[] {x, y});
  }

public void settings() { }

public void setup() { }

public void update() {
    this.x += random(-10, 10);
    this.y += random(-10, 10);
    this.history.add(new int[] {this.x, this.y});

if (this.history.size() > 100) {
      this.history.remove(0);
    }

}

public void show() {
    stroke(0);
    fill(0, 150);
    ellipse(this.x, this.y, 12, 12);
    noFill();

beginShape();

for (int i = 0; i < this.history.size(); i++) {
      int[] pos = this.history.get(i);
      vertex(pos[0], pos[1]);
    }

endShape();
  }
}
  • the Sketch class called by the MainActivity as a fragment. It simply set the canvas, draw particles and manage the mousePressed() adding a new Particle instance inside a Particle ArrayList:

import java.util.ArrayList;

import processing.core.*;

public class Sketch extends PApplet {

ArrayList<Particle> particles = new ArrayList<Particle>();

public void settings() {
        fullScreen();
        background(255);
    }

public void setup() {

}

public void mousePressed() {