Advantages of using classes and other ways to do things

I have never used classes until now. And i dont really understand how they work.

I feel like it has made my code much more complex than it is rather than neaten stuff up.
Why do people use the class function?
If i want to remove it from my code, what can i replace it with?
I am new to programming

Hi Bobby! I think that object-oriented programming is not very difficult to understand as a general concept but it usually needs some time.

Personally, i think that the main benefit of using classes and objects is that those chunks of code can be reused in other programs and they have their variables and methods. So, as a general rule of thumb, if you are writing something that you’ll probably use again in the future, maybe is a good idea to write it as a class/object, otherwise just write functions.

I hope this is somewhat clear

2 Likes

Trust me, you want to use classes in the long run, even if you don’t re-use them in other sketches.

Main advantage is that you have a package of variables and functions that describe one object (eg. a ball), and all are in one place.
This is much better than to have these variables declared globally because they have a defined scope then. It’s also better to have the functions stored in one class than to have them just in the code one after another.

You can have different classes, like one class for balls and one for paddles.

Simplicity

When you have an Array or an ArrayList of the class, the structure in the class is still very simple, because we only look at one ball and not at 100 balls. And let’s say you have a for-loop in draw(), so this for-loop is also simple: for(Ball b1 : balls) b1.run();.

Remark

Did you read the tutorial on objects on the website?

https://www.processing.org/tutorials/objects/

1 Like

Anyway to re-organize a class into simple code, you need to make the variables global