Blending random images

Hello all, I am hoping to get some advice on a problem I have. What I want to do is to randomly take images from a folder and blend them together. I’m not a programmer, I’m into photography, so the learning curve is very steep for me! However I have made some progress.

This is what I’ve got so far:

PImage frame0, frame1, frame2, frame3, frame4, frame5, frame6;
PImage [] images = new PImage [7];
int num = 7;

//images declared, array setup, num setup

void setup () {

size (720, 480);
  frameRate(1);
  for (int i = 0; i < images.length; i++) {
   images[i] = loadImage("frame"+i+".png");

}

//screen size, load images in to sketch

int index = int(random(0, images.length));
    image(images[(int)random(num)],0,0);
  }
}

//display images randomly

void draw () {

int index = int(random(0, images.length));
    image(images[(int)random(num)],0,0);

}

}

I know the part in void draw is a crude way to cycle through the images on screen and it’s not a great approach, but coupled with framerate was the best I could currently do. However, I haven’t implemented any blending here so far. I’ve seen other examples online where people simply used image.blend, such as this one:

void setup(){
  size(720,480);
  frame0=loadImage("frame0.png");
  frame1=loadImage("frame1.png");
  //copy of one
  frame2=loadImage("frame2.png");
  //combine part of two with part of the copy of one
  frame2.blend(frame2,20,20,30,30,20,20,30,30,OVERLAY);
}

void draw(){
  background(0);
  image(frame0,30,30);
  image(frame1,100,30);
  //blended image
  image(frame2,120,110);
}

So far I just can’t seem to integrate these two. Can anyone through some light on the way forward? Should I be looking at creating a Class to do the blending?

When you say “blend them together” – do you mean a series of cross-fades over time, like an animation? Or do you mean transparent compositing is your goal – you want all seven, each drawn at 1/7th transparency, creating a final still image?